Farewell, Max Roach

mroach2005.jpg 

Master of the skins, faster than the eye could see, the one and only Maxwell Lemuel Roach has passed away aged 83, and the New York Times has the most involving tribute, right here.

He was something of a local legend too, already immortalised in Brixton’s Max Roach Park. If you want to get stuck into some classic Max, here’s a good place to start.

One thought on “Farewell, Max Roach

  1. I’ve got this picture at the top of my stairs, funnily enough, and just the other day I was having a crack at “The Drum Also Waltzes” myself: elegance itself, if you can get it right.

    The [solo] “In Concert” video’s next to me now…

    “The people who really got me off were dealing with the musical potential of the instrument.”

    Tell me ’bout it, Max.

Leave a Reply

