Colour me taken aback

princechappelle.jpg

Good god, I’m seeing Prince at Koko tonight, looks like things are lining up for me after all. Given the intimate nature of the venue I’m looking forward to rubbing shoulders with Chaka Khan, sharing a quality cognac with Sheena Easton or exchanging bon mots with Morris Day. This is the second gig I’ve seen at Koko, the first being fellow Minneapolitan and all round pal to The Time, Alexander O’Neal. Chris Rock, breaking down the spread of black communities in the US once joked that the only black people in Minnesota were Prince and Kirby Puckett. I can only assume he’s some kind of flamboyant sportsman with a name like that, or a limerick writer’s dream.

Anyway, to recap: Prince + tonight = I win! This goes out to all my teachers at school who never thought I’d get to see Prince in a 1,500 capacity venue, and you know who you are.

Leave a Reply

